5TH URAL INDUSTRIAL BIENNALE OF CONTEMPORARY ART

Nikolay Smirnov

Nikolay Smirnov / b. 1982, Russia / lives and works in Moscow

The 5th Ural Biennial Main Project features the work:
«Death, Immortality, and the Powers of the Subterranean World»

The project involves:
necromancer Anatoly Moskvin (Nizhny Novgorod), batyr Klaus Vetter (Yakutsk), regional ethnographer Yuri Dmitriev (Petrozavodsk), general Konstantin Petrov (Public Safety Concept), permafrost ontologies researcher Charlotte Alexandra Wrigley (London), Mammoth Museum (Yakutsk)

 

as well as artists:
Alexander Agafonov (Perm), Jess (Ekaterinburg), Alena Koziol (Tyumen), Olga Mezhevich (Ekaterinburg), Juliana Semenova (Yakutsk), Egor Sleptsov (Yakutsk), Eugene Strelkov (Nizhny Novgorod), Irina Filatova (Moscow), Antonina Shadrina (Yakutsk) Sergey Yudichev (Chelyabinsk)

 

Project coordinators:
Daria Antipova (Ekaterinburg), Elena Vasilieva (Yakutsk)

 

Chthonic (subterranean) forces possess a number of resources important to humans, and are inextricably linked to the solution of the issue of death/immortality. The project is devoted to the study of human chthonopolitics which turns out to be the Gaia-politics, namely building relations with the inner forces of the Earth. This essay-exhibition is built in accordance with the narrative, which has three semantic centers:

1. Different mythological and religious ideas about the world beneath the Earth’s surface;

2. The positivist discourse of the modern era about the conquest of nature, penetration under the earth’s surface, and the extraction of resources;

3. Hybrid Contemporaneity in which new technologies are combined with animism.

The narrative of the exhibition is not historical. Rather, it is concentrated on the complex nature of Contemporaneity. It aims to demonstrate the complicated character of ideas connected with the Subterranean world today, and to show the origin of these ideas.

Ideas of the Subterranean world today are often heirs of earlier sacral meanings of the Chthonic in new hybrid forms. For example, new techno-secular projects that are trying to find resources for immortality under the surface of the Earth on closer examination turn out to be closely related to sacred archaic beliefs in the power of the Lower World.

5-Я УРАЛЬСКАЯ ИНДУСТРИАЛЬНАЯ БИЕННАЛЕ СОВРЕМЕННОГО ИСКУССТВА

Николай Смирнов

Николай Смирнов / р. 1982, Россия / живет и работает в Москве

 

На выставке Основного проекта 5-й Уральской биеннале представлен проект:
«Смерть, бессмертие и силы подземного мира»

 

В ПРОЕКТЕ УЧАСТВУЮТ:
некромант Анатолий Москвин (Нижний Новгород), богатырь Клаус Веттер (Якутск), краевед Юрий Дмитриев (Петрозаводск), генерал Константин Петров (Концепция Общественной Безопасности), исследователь онтологий вечной мерзлоты Шарлотта Александра Райли (Лондон), Музей мамонта (Якутск)

 

А ТАКЖЕ ХУДОЖНИКИ И ХУДОЖНИЦЫ:
Александр Агафонов (Пермь), Джесс (Екатеринбург), Алена Козиол (Тюмень), Ольга Межевич (Екатеринбург), Джулияна Семенова (Якутск), Егор Слепцов (Якутск), Евгений Стрелков (Нижний Новгород), Ирина Филатова (Москва), Антонина Шадрина (Якутск) Сергей Юдичев (Челябинск)

 

КООРДИНАТОРЫ:
Дарья Антипова (Екатеринбург), Елена Васильева (Якутск)

 

Хтонические (подземные) силы владеют рядом ресурсов, важных для человека, и неразрывно связаны с решением вопроса смерти/бессмертия. Проект посвящен исследованию хтонополититики человека, которая оказывается построением отношений с внутренними силами нашей планеты. Выставка-эссе выстроена в соответствии с нарративом, у которого есть три смысловых центра.

1) сакральные (мифологические и религиозные) представления о подземном мире;

2) позитивистский дискурс Нового времени о покорении природы, проникновении под земную поверхность и извлечении ресурсов;

3) современные гибридные представления, в которых технологии сочетаются с анимизмом, а секулярный научный проективизм переплетается с древними сакральными смыслами хтонического.

Однако повествование организовано не по историческому принципу. Скорее оно стремится продемонстрировать комплексный характер современных представлений, связанных с подземным миром, показать их происхождение. Эти представления часто сцеплены с более ранними системами сакральных знаний о хтоническом, но предстают в новых
гибридных формах. Например, некоторые современные техносекулярные проекты, которые пытаются искать ресурсы для обретения бессмертия под поверхностью земли, при ближайшем рассмотрении оказываются тесно связанными с архаичными верованиями в могущество Нижнего Мира.