5TH URAL INDUSTRIAL BIENNALE OF CONTEMPORARY ART

The Main Project of the 5th Ural Industrial Biennial will take place at two venues: The Ural Optical and Mechanical Plant and the Coliseum Cinema.

URAL OPTICAL-MECHANICAL PLANT
33B Vostochnaya St., Ekaterinburg

The Ural Optical and Mechanical Plant named after E. S. Yalamov is one of the largest enterprises in the optical industry and one of the key organizations in the “Schwabe” Holding Company, which is part of the Rostec State Corporation. UOMZ is considered to be one of the current leaders in optical instrument making. The company develops and manufactures optical-electronic systems for all types of weapons, as well as civilian items, such as: medical, lighting and geodesic products.

Founded in 1837 in Moscow by a merchant Fedor Schwabe, the plant began its history as a company selling optical instruments. After the October Revolution of 1917, the firm “Schwabe” was renamed to JSC “Geophysics”, and was nationalized. In 1941, production was evacuated to Sverdlovsk. After the war, the plant remained in the Urals.

The 5th Ural Industrial Biennial exhibition is located in the premises of the optical production building. The building is operational — on the third floor there are still functioning production zones where plates, prisms, lenses, crystals, optical coatings for laser technology and other components for the whole range of the plant’s products are made.

In addition to optical production, printed circuit boards were manufactured on the 4th floor of building No. 2 from the late 1990s until 2007. Also, until the 1980s, there were areas for the production of optical-electronic systems on the 4th floor.

After the 5th Ural Industrial Biennial exhibition finishes, the manufacturing of civilian items, as well as skilled-experimental production is planned on the 2nd and 4th floors of the building, as part of the successful implementation of UOMZ’s policy and strategy of diversification, i.e.: increasing the volume of non-military product output at the plant.

 

“COLISEUM” CINEMA
43 Lenin Ave., Ekaterinburg

The history of the Coliseum cinema spans more than one and a half centuries. Designed by the architect Karl Tursky in a classical style, it was erected in 1845 at the initiative of the chief of the Ural factories — Vladimir Glinka, and was intended to serve as the first city theater.

In 1885, the City Theater was the first institution in the city to have public lighting installed. Its source was a generator located in the courtyard. On November 7, 1896, the first cinema screening in Ekaterinburg was held here.
The building began to function consistently as a cinema from 1912. It was named the Coliseum in 1914. After the 1917 revolution, the cinema began to use the name October, which was common in the Soviet years. It returned to using its historical name in 2002.

Today, the cinema is undergoing another transformation. The Ural Biennial acts as a pop-up project, the purpose of which is to reconfigure the use of this historical monument and prepare it for a new life. This building cannot be deprived of the cultural function originally associated with it.

For the Biennial, this site has become a home not only for the art of cinema — some of the works for the Biennial’s main project and also a large-scale public program are to be held here. The art here is shown from different points of view, and the diverse program allows audiences to acquaint themselves with the subject at any level.

The subject of immortality makes us wonder how a cultural agenda is transformed, and how art evolves throughout history. The famous maxim ars longa vita brevis is embodied here in literal form: in our project the Coliseum cinema is a pavilion reflecting the immortality of art.

5-Я УРАЛЬСКАЯ ИНДУСТРИАЛЬНАЯ БИЕННАЛЕ СОВРЕМЕННОГО ИСКУССТВА

Основной проект 5-й Уральской индустриальной биеннале разместится на двух площадках: в Уральском оптико-механическом заводе им. Э. С. Яламова и кинотеатре «Колизей».

 

УРАЛЬСКИЙ ОПТИКО-МЕХАНИЧЕСКИЙ ЗАВОД ИМ. Э.С. ЯЛАМОВА

Екатеринбург, ул. Восточная, 33Б

Уральский оптико-механический завод имени Э. С. Яламова — одно из крупнейших предприятий оптической отрасли и одна из ключевых организаций холдинга «Швабе» Государственной корпорации «Ростех». Сегодня УОМЗ является лидером оптического приборостроения. Предприятие разрабатывает и выпускает оптико-электронные системы для всех видов вооружений, а также изделия гражданского назначения: медицинскую, светотехническую и геодезическую продукцию.

Свою историю завод ведет от компании по продаже оптических приборов, основанной в 1837 г. в Москве купцом третьей гильдии Федором Швабе. После Октябрьской революции 1917 г. фирма «Швабе», переименованная в АО «Геофизика», подверглась национализации. В 1941-м производство было эвакуировано в Свердловск. После войны завод так и остался на Урале.

Экспозиция 5-й Уральской индустриальной биеннале располагается в помещениях корпуса оптического производства. Корпус действующий: на третьем этаже по-прежнему работают производственные участки, где изготавливаются пластины, призмы, линзы, кристаллы, оптические покрытия для лазерной техники и другие комплектующие для всего спектра продукции завода.

Помимо оптического производства на четвертом этаже корпуса № 2 с конца 1990-х и до 2007 г. осуществлялось изготовление печатных плат. На этом же этаже до 1980-х находились участки производства оптико-электронных систем.

По окончании экспозиции 5-й Уральской индустриальной биеннале на втором и четвертом этажах корпуса, в силу успешной реализации политики и стратегии диверсификации и наращивания объемов выпуска гражданской продукции на УОМЗ, планируется обустроить производство гражданского приборостроения, а также опытно-экспериментальное производство.

 

КИНОТЕАТР «КОЛИЗЕЙ»

Екатеринбург, пр. Ленина, 43

История здания кинотеатра «Колизей» насчитывает более полутора веков. Оно было возведено в 1845 году по инициативе главного начальника уральских заводов Владимира Глинки по проекту архитектора Карла Турского в стиле классицизм и предназначалось для первого городского театра.

В 1885 году Городской театр оказался первым заведением в городе, получившим городское освещение. Его источником была динамо-машина, установленная во дворе. 7 ноября 1896 года здесь состоялся первый в Екатеринбурге сеанс кинематографа.

В качестве кинотеатра здание начало постоянно функционировать с 1912 года,. А свое нынешнее имя «Колизей» получил в 1914 году. После революции 1917 года кинотеатр носил распространенное для советских лет название «Октябрь», а в 2002 году вернул себе свое историческое название. С 1980 года здание входит в список объектов культурного наследия РФ регионального значения.

Сегодня кинотеатр переживает очередную трансформацию. Уральская биеннале выступает как pop-up проект, цель которого — перезагрузить исторический памятник и подготовить его для новой жизни. Это здание невозможно лишить культурной функции, изначально заложенной в нем.

В рамках биеннале это место становится домом не только для «важнейшего из искусств» — на его территории располагается часть произведений основного проекта биеннале и проводится масштабная публичная программа. Искусство здесь показано с разных точек зрения, а разнообразная программа позволяет погрузиться в предмет на любом уровне.

Тема бессмертия заставляет задуматься о том, как трансформируется культурная повестка, как эволюционирует искусство на протяжении истории. Известная максима «ars longa vita brevis» воплощается здесь в буквальной форме: кинотеатр «Колизей» в нашем проекте — это павильон бессмертия искусства.